Routing all traffic through paid VPN?

Home Forums Discussions Support Routing all traffic through paid VPN?

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    ThatBigDyl
    Participant

I am using Mullvad VPN on all my devices, and I need mullvad on my server, but I also use wiresock between the server and devices to access webui’s such as plex (with NAT enabled). I am a networking noob, is this possible? My server is slow so I would prefer not to use a vm to keep it fast and power consumption down.

Thank you.

Vadim Smirnov
      Keymaster

Could you please clarify a few details to help me understand your needs more accurately:

1. Are you inquiring about the WireSock VPN Client or the WireSock VPN Gateway?
        2.Could you provide a more detailed description of your current network setup?

Your responses will enable me to offer the most effective advice for your specific situation.

ThatBigDyl
        Participant

1. Im using gateway

2. My server is on a simple LAN, and I have a port forwarded for the Wiresock gateway for me to use Wireguard clients on my phone and PC remotely. Wiresock is configured in NAT mode so I connect to my server with the IPs on the LAN.

I had my Mullvad VPN app installed as well, but when I turn it on, the wiresock connection to my phone and remote PC is lost. Unfortunately, Mullvad doesn’t have the ability to split tunnel to a single app like many other VPNs. I will note that Mullvad VPN uses wireguard protocol as well and I can connect to it with a wireguard client if that makes this any easier.

Vadim Smirnov
          Keymaster

I suspect that activating Mullvad VPN is altering your routing table, making your server inaccessible from the LAN (so called kill-switch). In your Mullvad configuration, check the ‘AllowedIps’ setting. To maintain LAN access while connected to the VPN, replace ‘0.0.0.0/0’ with ‘AllowedIPs=0.0.0.0/1, 128.0.0.0/1’. This split tunneling approach should allow LAN connectivity.