Redirect packets thru another network adapter

Home Forums Discussions Support Redirect packets thru another network adapter

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    JohnS
    Participant

I am looking for a library that will allow me to redirect specific packets (that are coming from a specific application by checking on what sockets IP:PORT that application has opened) and route them to another adapter.

The reason been that I want to route specific application packets to the normal adapter and not thru my VPN adapter.
      I am not experienced in networking, so what I am asking might not be something as easy as I hope to.

Vadim Smirnov
      Keymaster

Yes, it is possible to do using Windows Packet Filter, however:

1. this is not trivial, as you need to write the code to select and re-route network packets
        2. implementation may depend on VPN you are using, so I would recommend to start with something simple, e.g. routing ICMP PING or DNS
        JohnS
        Participant

I have a feeling that I started the wrong way. I used the dotNet example from the source code.
          From that, I took the packet filter and I make filters based on source and destination IP:port of what the application has opened. For example:

My internal IP for the normal adapter would be: 192.168.1.6
          My internal IP for the VPN adapter would be: 10.128.19.222

And I have an application that has a connection as following:
          Local address: 10.128.32.222:50449 -> Remote address: 54.210.0.167:443

I would listen to the VPN adapter for all the packets that are sent from 10.128.32.222:50449 to 54.210.0.167:443.
          Then take the packets and parse with PacketDotNet and change the source address to my normal adapter address so the new packet has the following network data:
          Source 192.168.1.6:50449 ; Destination: 54.210.0.167:443
          The new packet is then sent downwards the network stack thru the normal adapter.