Redirect after filter on packets

Home Forums Discussions Support Redirect after filter on packets

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    CIPSoftware
    Participant

Hello,

I’m new to network programming and I need some pointers on how to solve my problem.

I’m using BCB6 to develop a simple firewall to filter packets on IP adresses on port 80. This works great but there is still one little problem to solve.
      After filtering a packet, I want to redirect the user to another IP adress (website). This website contains a html file with a warning.

I’ve walked through this forum but found no topics with some simple redirect examples. I’ve tried the code to change the ip of the packet and than recalc the checksums but the application just resents the same packet (with the old IP address). After a while the connection is timed out. I found a topic on this forum which eplains why this happens.

Should I change the packet or just create a new one for the new IP address and drop the old one ?

Problem is that this should work on any type of internet connection .. not just mine. 😉

Please help ….

many thanks

Vadim Smirnov
      Keymaster

Lets assume that you want to redirect user from IP1 to IP2. In order to do so you must do the following:

1) For the outgoing packet change destination IP from IP1 to IP2 and recalcuilate IP checksum. Save the connection state (IP’s, TCP ports).

2) For the incoming packet check if it is from IP2 and if yes also check port information (to be sure that this packet is associated with redirected connection). After this substitute source IP from IP2 to IP1 and recalculate IP checksum.

3) And so on… For the outgoing packets use 1) and use 2) for incoming.

CIPSoftware
        Participant

Sorry for my late response …

thanx for this because it works like a charm 😀

But … what happens if the client uses a proxy … can I use the same method ?

Vadim Smirnov
          Keymaster