Need to change v4,v6 TTL/HOP by individual tcp/udp port

Home Forums Discussions Support Need to change v4,v6 TTL/HOP by individual tcp/udp port

Tagged: 

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    packetman007
    Participant

Vadim,
      Just found your site and products. A few questions and introduction.

I’m a packet analyst, started at Network General Sniffer in 1986. See securityinstitute.com and hopzero.com efforts. https://www.linkedin.com/in/billalderson/

I am trying to figure a way to configure ttl/hop by tcp.udp port

each computer we set will have a lower ttl than the default which is 128.

We determine the better lower ttl/hop and then set it.

We set a few or a couple of dozen computers for a lower hop/ttl individually.

Additionally we would like to do so for a certain destination IP Address. But that is secondary to just setting a windows machine as follows.

Windows example Server IP Address or Host : MSSQL1
      Port 1433 hop=3 (stay in Data Center or Expire)
      Port 80 hop = 128 (may go as far as Internet)
      Port 443 hop = 128
      Port 445 hop = 12 (stays inside orgn private network)
      Port 135 hop = 12
      Port 3389 hop = 12
      All other ports = default global ttl = 128

We are looking for multiple ways to deliver the config,

1.) Registry or local modification
      2.) AD Policy
      3,) Ansible, Puppet, Chef config management
      4.) PowerShell settings
      5,) running batch or script.

As a last ditch effort we may need to use code. That’s why I am communicating with you today.

2 Things.

1.) maybe I could use your VirtNet Bridge in some cases to solve my issue.
      a.) connect your virtnet or something like it between Windows and WSL2
      b.) in WSL2 use IPTABLES mangle rules to modify the ttl/hop as we do very easily already on linux.
      c.) we need Windows communications to go through WSL2 firewall IPTABLES instead of Windows Firewall.